creative writing, personal

Fragments

My pockets were filled with stones as I trudged deeper and deeper.

Drowning in your touch, choking on your words.

Your blood ran warm but you could still be so cold.

You underestimated the monopoly you had over my mind. 

Over my well being.

Every argument felt like gunshots, piercing my flesh.

The silent treatment that followed was like salt in my wounds.

I kept coming back, like a moth to a flame.

I let you hurt me, derail me.

I allowed you to snuff out my light.

Now I have no way to see through this darkness.

I wonder aimlessly, lost in limbo.

I’m stuck reading between the lines, nothing makes sense anymore.

I touch fires and they are freezing, I’m unphased as my skin cracks and bubbles.

The air in my lungs is like smog, my chest feels heavier with each breath.

But I keep walking through the shadows.

Determined to find my light at the end of this tunnel.

After what feels like an endless road of “what if?”

I can finally see the sun peaking through.

I run towards it, towards my salvation, towards the end of this pain.

But as I get closer, I see you, blocking the exit.

I see you and I fall apart.

Everything comes crashing down around me.

I try to pick up the pieces and now my palms are stained red.

Sliced open as I hold fragments of my broken heart.

Fragments of my mental health.

Fragments of shattered hope in my hands.

I look up to find you staring at me.

My eyes are stinging, I can hardly see through these tears.

Once again, you see that you’ve upset me.

Once again, you say nothing.

And once again, you walk away.

I loved you.

You ruined me.

Standard

Leave a comment